Basics Of Professional Boxing

More than whatever else, professional boxing was inspired by sheer love for manly fights and the price. Thus, the phrase “prizefighting”.

The popularity of professional boxing begun in 18th century England where the working classes were the first avid fans and participants. It grew on until boxing caught the consideration of top-hatted gentlemen and royalty. Today, professional boxing bouts are held around the world where champions are drafted from a numerous countries.

Scoring system
In professional boxing, unlike in amateur boxing, score is awarded based on the 10-point must system. This signifies that the 3 ringside judges should award the maximum number of points to the boxer who displayed better exchanges throughout a round while the loser for each round only gets 9 points. The scores are tallied on score cards which are totaled at the closing of the combat. though, this can be skipped in case of a knockout (where one boxer receives a difficult blow and is not capable to stand up before the count of 10) or when there is a technical knockout (where the game is stopped by the referee due to a numerous reasons).

Scores are awarded based on the cleanliness of the punches, the defensive strategies the boxer uses and the display of efficient aggressiveness. As it is, the scoring system is subject to lack of objectivity which often gives rise to questionable results.

Each knockdown deducts 1 thing from the boxer who reduced and penalties are awarded if the rules are infringed. On highly serious violations, the game might be stopped and the violator might be disqualified.

As was already mentioned, scores are tallied at the closing of the combat. If all the scorecards agree, the victor gets a “unanimous decision”. It is a “split decision” when the victor only wins two scorecards. If the scores are tied, the choice is draw and it is yet a draw if one judge picks a champ and the other two gave tied scores. though this time, it is called a “majority draw”.

Professional boxing fights can last for as long as 12 rounds of 3 minutes each and as short as 4 rounds for less experienced fighters. though, sooner than 1982, professional boxing can last for as long as 15 pounds. The impromptu death of the boxer Duk Koo Kim throughout a 15-round combat with Ray Mancini forced professional boxing organizations to trim down the rounds to only 12 rounds.

Weights in professional boxing can from time to time get confusing and for each weight, there can be further subdivisions that add more classifications of fighters and champions alike. Below are the more general weight divisions in professional boxing:

Light Flyweight
Super Flyweight
Super Bantamweight
Super Featherweight
Light Welterweight
Light Middleweight
Super Middleweight
Light Heavyweight
Super-cruiserweight, and

Other weight divisions include Strawweight, Jr. Flyweight, Jr. Bantamweight, Jr. Featherweight, Jr. Lightweight, Jr. Welterweight, and Jr. Middleweight.

Champions and Belt Holders
Due to the diversity of professional boxing organizations like IBF, WBA and WBC and WBO, it is difficult to determine which between the top ranking fighter and belt-holders are the champions. presently though, there is no one governing body that could undoubtedly produce champions.

There are, though, caption holders, titlists and belt-holders and each sanctioning body, as they are often called, have different parameters for determining who the caption holders are and who the mandatory rivals are.